Carrum Downs Secondary College

CDSC runs a four house support structure for
students and teachers

Each house is supported by the House Leader, two Assistant House Leaders and a House Support Officer. Houses are vertical (Years 7 to 12) and students remain in the same house for the duration of their secondary schooling. Our house structure builds connectedness within the College between students, teachers and parents.

Anzac House

House Leader: Ellie Gogis
House Support Officer: Meg Campbell
Direct Phone: 9788 9156

The word “Anzac” has been a part of Australian thought, language, and life since 25 April 1915. Devised by a signaller in Egypt as a useful acronym for “Australian and New Zealand Army Corps”, it quickly became a word with many uses and meanings. Here, at Carrum Downs Secondary College we are very proud to be able to use the name synonymous with the brave men and women of our country.

Hollows House

House Leader: Jeremy Mestrov
House Support Officer: Jo Resuggan
Direct Phone: 9788 9126

The Hollows House is named in honour of Fred Hollows, who was known for his work in saving eyesight in Australia and many countries around the world. We continue to support this cause through community work and fund raising for the Fred Hollows Foundation.

Flynn House

House Leader: Joel White

House Support Officer: Louise Burley

Direct Phone: 9788 9150
The Flynn House was named after John Flynn. During his study to become a minister, John Flynn remembered the tough life of the outback where he was raised. This lead him to becoming the founder of the Australian Royal Flying Doctor Service. His kind personality and determination saved many people’s lives and he should be recognised as one of Australia’s greatest heroes.

Gilmore House

House Leader: Sandy Ensink
House Support Officer: Ruth Coster
Direct Phone: 9788 9149

The Gilmore House was named after Mary Gilmore, born near Goulburn, New South Wales. She became a teacher and a writer and was editor of the women’s pages of the Australian Worker newspaper. Gilmore went to Paraguay in South America to join a group of Australians who planned to set up a new colony, where everyone would be equal and would work together. She spent the rest of her life writing, doing her editing work and fighting for people who needed help.